Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Productive.

Got up this morning and, while the coffee and the computer were warming up, started reading "Powers," on recommendation from my buddy Adam and I had to drag myself out of the pages, because it’s absolutely cool. (Adam also loaned me the first season of "Arrested Development" last week, and I thought I’d give it a shot late Friday night before bed. Yeah, I was up until about three in the morning because I kept wanting to watch one more episode. As Cutter John of the Starchair Enterpoop once said, I got the best friends in all of explored space.)

Once I hit the keyboard and started knocking back cups of coffee, a couple hours flew by and something good happened: I finished the first draft of my second book. I’ve been carrying around yellow legal pads scribbled with notes and jotting down stuff on scrap paper in my car for the last year, and everything on that list has finally been checked off. I had already gone back and proofread everything I’d done to this point, so now I just need to take the red pen to the last few pieces and then hit up a couple edit-minded friends (see, being the best in all explored space comes with a price, right?) Then there’s a cover to come up with, and the thank-you list, but you know what?

It’s DONE.

To celebrate, Jenn & I went out and used some of an anniversary gift to buy a second Guitar Hero guitar and a couple Wii games.

I also got in a run this afternoon: A full seven-mile loop done over a pretty dramatic hour, weather-wise. I left home in the sun, ran through clouds and wind and a couple moments of dark-sky rain, though nothing steady. The downpour started about five minutes after I got home. Racing the storm, baby, racing the storm.

Along the way, this neat moment: I was approaching an intersection, probably about 100 yards from it, and a woman out for her own run had just crossed through on the street perpendicular to mine. When she got across, she turned and looked in my direction and raised an arm in greeting, which I returned. It was a nice mental boost, coming along late in the trip, just when I needed it.

Got home to find my daughter watching "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade," which we’d been meaning to do in preparation for the new movie. It was on Sci-Fi, and she was almost an hour in, I think, but she said she’d missed the first 10 or 15 minutes. "Whoa, whoa, whoaaaaaaa," I said, "NOnonono – you CAN’T watch this movie without having seen the BEGINNING, so here’s what we’re gonna do: I’ll put the DVD in and we’ll watch the whole thing together, and yes, you can stay up a little past your bedtime.

We chose wisely.

May 18, 2008 - Posted by | 1980s, Books, eighties, Film, geek, Music, Ohio, video games

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 991 other followers

