Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

More Games, More Fun

As I’m hitting the road for a weekend defined by gaming, it seems appropriate to share this bit of nostalgia found in an empty box.

Without my mom’s wonderfully labeled and sorted volumes of family photos in front of me, I can’t say for sure what Christmas I got this, but I really can remember the feel of the box beneath my hands as I peeled back the wrapping paper and let out a whoop of unparalleled joy upon seeing it:

Model CX-2600

The Original. Click to zoom in and check out the games. THAT'S packaging ART, my friends.

I don’t know why the box got saved – the system is, of course, long since dead or handed down to a cousin or garage saled or something – but holding it and running my gaze over that font and the images take me back almost more effectively than even playing the recreated games themselves on my Atari Flashback.

And check out the back: Combat in all its glory.

A taste of Combat.

A taste of Combat.

There was, in fact, one game cartridge and one controller stuck inside this box in the attic for years -along with the now-ridiculous-looking plastic shell that once served as a “dome” above the plastic-woodgrain case where the console itself sat, revered and protected.

Star Raiders.

Not to be confused with Star Blazers, of course.

Man, it was almost like a real, you know, COMPUTER!

An Atari game was super special if it came in a really fat box, because you knew that meant it had a special controller in it, like the Indy 500 game we got for dad thathad a set of special driving “paddles,” or, in this case, that keypad which at one time had an overlay labeling buttons for warp speed and coordinates and stuff like that. Honestly, I don’t remember the game mechanics so much as I remember really thinking it was kind of like hunting TIEs alongside Red Five and the gang, and if I looked over my shoulder there in the basement, I’d see R2 in his socket, and the starfield receding behind him.

March 25, 2010 - Posted by | 1980s, eighties, geek, video games | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. My mom uncovered and gave me some old Polaroid shots last summer, one of which was of Christmas 1981 and the arrival of the Atari 2600 in our house… http://randomthoughtsescaping.blogspot.com/2009/08/flashback.html

    Comment by AB | March 27, 2010 | Reply

    • I remember that post well. :) (And yes, I’m retroactively jealous because we never owned “Breakout,” despite the fact that it seemed to be the second-most common cartridge in all my friends’ houses, right after “Combat.”)

      Comment by jrbooth | March 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. [...] that’s not our first Atari, obviously, but it is the cheap second-generation 2600 that Mom and Dad got after we apparently [...]

    Pingback by 8-bit time capsule « Cornfield Meet | April 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. [...] More games, more fun [...]

    Pingback by Atari: 40 years old today « Cornfield Meet | June 27, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 972 other followers

