Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Some Star Wars Celebration VI Flashbacks

Honestly, I was just bombarded with So Much Awesome at Star Wars Celebration VI that the thought of trying to write it up in detail here is just overwhelming. And it’s more than just the usual post-Celebration melancholy, since I was lucky to spend some time with a few truly generous and funny and talented and fun people, and I miss them all.

For now, I’m just going to post bits and pieces, starting with coverage that I did for GeekDad, and that my friend Jim (we realized over the weekend we’ve known each other for something like 17 years) did for the Orlando Business Journal.

I finally rode the new Star Tours and LOVED IT. In just four rides, I saw both opening sequences, all three holograms, visited all the planets but Naboo, AND got to be the spy.

Kevin Smith’s Star Wars-centric “An Evening With…” was effing incredible – it was off-color and hilarious and nostalgic and heartwrenching and inspiring. (Two nights later, Jim and I spent awhile hanging out with the two fantastic sign language interpreters who almost stole the show. They worked many of the bigger Celebration presentations over the weekend, and they took the gig in large part because they’re both hardcore Star Wars fans.)

On Friday the 24th, I sat in on a taping of the Nerdist crew’s Star Wars Transmission – which was a poodoo-ton of fun.

Finally (at least for now), below are all my Star Wars Celebration VI Tweets (from most recent to earliest), cut and pasted from Snapbird, with links to the photos I shot with my phone camera.

August 28, 2012 - Posted by | 1970s, 1980s, Current Affairs, eighties, Film, geek, science fiction, Travel | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. [...] They also logged plenty of walking miles in visits to Stark Parks trails, Disney World, Turks & Caicos, and two Star Wars Celebrations. [...]

    Pingback by New feet friends. « Cornfield Meet | February 2, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 988 other followers

