Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

This is Me in ’83 – December

Postcards from Christmas vacation, 1983:

A Christmas Story came out in November, but I know it had been out for awhile by the time I saw it at the Gold Circle Cinemas. My parents had seen it already, as had this kid at school who told me how it ended after I asked him about it. Seems likely I went to see it over the winter break.

I was a big Bloom County fan This is my best “Bill the Cat” face:

So, if you recall, Return of the Jedi had come out earlier that year. This meant Star Wars gifts were pretty popular at Christmas. My brothers got a a bunch of Jedi toys and stuff: Speeder Bikes, the Ewok Village, action figures, big Presto Magix kits. It was really the last big Star Wars Christmas of the original trilogy era.

As a newly-minted teenager, I had pretty much taken Star Wars toys off my wish list. The last Kenner Star Wars toy I specifically asked for was the Y-Wing. As I wrote in Collect All 21! –

Couldn’t help it. This thing was light years ahead of the old X-Wing, armed with not only that squealing laser cannon, but a rotating top turret and a plastic bomb to drop from its underbelly. And it had a socket behind the cockpit for Artoo units. I may not have actually role-played with my figures anymore, but I did send that ship on many a run over card houses in our living room, and somewhere in our family albums there’s a snapshot of me using the ship to dive bomb my little brother and his Knight Rider-inspired remote-control black Camaro.

Now, for years, I remembered that Y-Wing as a 13th birthday request: But this picture was clearly taken on Christmas, judging by my sweet striped sweater and cool brown corduroy pants – the same outfit as in that first shot. And the Y-Wing box is in the background of another Christmas picture, so while I may have asked for it in November, the evidence suggests I got it on Christmas. I think the only other Star Wars toy I got that year was the Vehicle Maintenance Energizer, which paired up nicely with the ship.

I still have my Y-Wing. You can see it in this shot from Plastic Galaxy: The Story of Star Wars Toys:

YWingShelf

And with that flash-forward, I wrap up This is Me in ’83.

Big thanks to my mom, who kept and organized shelves full of photo albums that held a lot of these pictures.

I’ve really enjoyed this project. I didn’t wind up writing as much as I thought I would when I started, but I also dug up and rediscovered things I didn’t have in mind a year ago. I also found some other pictures and photos and memories that I want to share and write about.

I hope you’ve had a good year. Thanks for visiting 1983 with me.

December 24, 2013 - Posted by | 1980s, geek, Ohio | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for the memories of ’83. Love your viewpoint of past years.
    Mom

    Comment by Mom | December 26, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 976 other followers

