Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Time’s a pretty hate machine

Caught this blurb today: Nine Inch Nails is playing at Blossom Music Center this summer, doing a show with Bauhaus. It’s a hodgepodge multilayered flashback here, between what was going on in my life in general when I was introduced to those bands (freshman year of college) and very specific memories of a show at the Phantasy in Cleveland that year – April, 1990 –  when my friend Erin and I borrowed a car, drove from Bowling Green to Lakewood, and saw NIN open for Peter Murphy. At that point, NIN was much more a regional draw, and I kept pointing out every natty-haired, leather-jacket-clad guy I saw and saying, "Look. There’s Trent Reznor."

So, after the show, we’re leaving, and Erin says, "Look. There’s Trent Reznor."
Good one, Erin, good one. Almost gotmebutholyCRAP it IS Trent Reznor, leaning up against a wall hanging out. So we say ‘hi,’ and he signs our ticket stubs (don’t ask, I lost it years ago), and then asks if we want to come to the after-party.

And I can’t believe this, but we say no, and it’s my fault, because I’m a total wuss and it’s already midnight and Erin and I both have 8 a.m. classes and I’ve got an exam the next morning and it’s a two and a half hour drive back to BG. On the bright side, we get to the car and find that I’ve left the headlights on, and we needed a jump, so if we HAD gone to the party, the battery would not only have been dead, but it probably would’ve been 3 or 4 a.m. and there certainly wouldn’t have been anyone around to give us a hand.

Yeah, that’s what I tell myself, even though it’s lame. Still, my wife Jenn and I will be at the grocery store sometimes, and see a checkout girl in her axle-grease-think eyeliner and purple-dyed hair and her Slipknot wristband and think, "She’s got no idea what we once were."

I actually saw Trent Reznor later that year, in line for the Blue Streak at Cedar Point – the people I’m with don’t recognize him, but I go up and say ‘hi’ anyway, and again, he’s pretty cheerful and ordinary, enjoying a summer day at the amusement park, which definitely doesn’t fit his musical persona, but there it is.

April 6, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

