Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Good stuff, Maynard.

Wow. See, now this friggin’ rocks. Not just the tale of a visit to the Trinity test site , but the whole idea of this guy, Joshua Ellis, pursuing something he’d like to write about, and getting out there and doing it. I admire this to no end, and hope I can be doing projects like it in the not-too-distant future. As the guy in the Malt-O-Meal commercials used to say, "Good stuff, Maynard."

Over at Fieldsedge I put up a link with my resume on it, and it got me remembering all these stories I did that I hadn’t thought about in a long time: the time I flew in a C-130 plane from Ohio to Virginia to do a story about the 910th Airlift Wing spraying for mosquitos; or covering Korey Stringer‘s funeral in Warren; or finding myself in a hallway at the Cleveland I-X Center with only Mike Schmidt, Jim Kelly, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and John Elway around. (Very surreal. And Elway had on the most bright lime-green dress shirt I’ve ever seen.)

You know, writing stories is a good gig. I like it.

April 12, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

