Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Mental WD-40

See, I knew I was going to run into this kind of
productivity problem. I’ve kind of gotten used to it happening over the past
few years, and I guess when I think about why it happens, it’s because I’m
lucky enough to have a newsroom job where, every day, I get to do what I love: write. 

I have noticed, though, that there are times when the
writing I do away from the newsroom where I work tends to taper off, and it’s a
struggle to get that energy flowing again. I’ve tended to think of it as having
this water tank of creative energy, and when it doesn’t get tapped for awhile,
and I turn on the faucet, it just pours out, whether it’s in my journal or
online or in essays or the occasional freelance feature.

But when I’m at work, and especially when it’s busy and I’m
working on several stories at a time, it’s like that tank’s got a relief valve
running, so there’s not as much pressure built up behind the tap. I mean, even
though it’s a different kind of writing that I do to earn my paycheck, the
creative muscles still get to stretch and flex a bit, so that when I come home,
every so often, the valve on the tank up top just needs to stay shut for a while.

Trouble is, sometimes it gets a little stuck. It’s working
loose again, though (sitting here typing helps a lot), and I’ve got a fun
project I’ll be able to post about this week, and Jim C. and I are still
tackling some tech issues with our website, which we’d like to get up and
running more smoothly.

May 14, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

