Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

I hear radio waves in my head.

>sigh< I had a much longer, detailed post written, and accidentally closed the window on the thing when I was previewing it and checking the links. Maybe that’s my sign to write shorter & quicker.

Long story short: I’m very excited because I wrote a commentary/essay last week and sent it over to the folks at WKSU for consideration, and they asked me to record it for broadcast!

So I stopped into the studio in Kent tonight for about an hour and a half and met with Renita – she’s invited me on air to talk about a couple other stories I’ve worked on in the past year – who put me very much at ease after a couple read-throughs, and I was very happy with the way the actual recording went. It was a lot of fun, and it’s going to air tomorrow – Wednesday, May 17 – during the 6 p.m. show "Your Way Home," and maybe even again during the local breaks of Thursday’s  "Morning Edition."

Seeing the main studio was also kind of a bizarre thing: Flat-screen touch-sensitive monitors hung over the sound board, and I watched Renita cue up program segues and local stories through the software, without a single big clunky tape cart in sight. (Though she did adjust the feed manually through the board.) Very different from my long-past days on the air at WBGU.

May 16, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

