Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

I’ve seen her dehydrate, sir. It’s pretty gross.

Just because I haven’t been writing here doesn’t mean I haven’t been writing at all. I’ve managed to keep pretty busy in the almostamonthhowembarrassing since my last entry.

I’ve been helping out my former paper on some Friday nights, covering high school football games, and it’s been fun. Not just watching the games, but actually writing under the influence of that adrenaline rush of a looming deadline. Sitting in a newsroom with the air full of clacking keys and ringing phones and humming printers, there’s a great kind of mental spike inthe end zone that comes along with hitting the return key on that final sentence.

I also got around to finishing an 80s pop-culture piece I’d had in mind for a bit – it’s here. I can remember watching The Breakfast Club with my first girlfriend, then going to school the following Monday ridiculously geeked about this movie, and I wanted to quote all these classic lines, but only a few other kids had seen it, because it was rated R, and had only just come out on video, and we weren’t even old enough to drive yet.

For some reason, Crossing Decembers has disappeared from Amazon.com, though it’s still on the UK version of the site.

October 2, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

