Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Balance.

Okay, so yes, my daughter’s 10 years old, which means, despite my best efforts, she’s into
Hannah Montana. (She also digs Wallace and Gromit, too, though – we
just watched Curse of the Were Rabbit for the first time and loved it
start to finish. Now she keeps clutching her hands up near her chin and
squealing "Cheeeeese!")

We didn’t get into the whole Hannah Montana Live hysteria – after
all, she’s already been to a real rock concert – but I was able to completely surprise her with a trip to the 3-D movie
last weekend. (Which, for what it’s worth, represents everything I find
cynical and infuriating about Disney: You want to capitalize on the
frenzy, I get it. But charging $15 per ticket and doing this
limited-release thing, particularly during the school year, is just
hype-driving bullshit. Frankly, the only reasons we went were because
they extended the run and because my kid had been amazingly non-whiny and
level-headed about why we couldn’t go to the first "one weekend only"
rush. She never even mentioned it again, which made the surprise that much better.)

Anyway, given my recent re-reading of Watchmen and some Marvel comic trade paperbacks on loan from my friend Adam, and then this post over at Geekdad, I thought it would be fun to introduce my daughter to some graphic novels.

A couple weeks and two trips to the library later, and I’m rewarded with moments like this: When I went into her room to say goodbye this morning
before leaving for work, she tells me that she had woken up in the
middle of the night and couldn’t get back to sleep, so she read Jeff Smith’s "Bone"
Volume 4 – The Dragonslayer
. The whole thing. She’s also itching to get back to Andy Runton’s Owly series.

Man, that’s pretty cool.

(On a semi-related note, I found a dirt-cheap copy of Scud: The Disposable Assassin – Programmed for Damage about a week and a half ago. I had two issues of Scud back when they were new
in the 1990s, but lost track of the series, so I’m very excited to see the
author’s finally getting around to completing the story. Better and weirder and funnier than I remembered, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the rest and then catch up on the long-awaited concluding issues.)

 
February 12, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Looks like a Bone movie has been picked up by Warner Bros… http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/hr/content_display/film/news/e3i1de189927bfff7586370a339aef45dd6

    Comment by Adam | March 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Interesting – I think I’d prefer they stick with an animated version (obviously without the pop songs, blech) – and I’m also wondering if they’re planning to try and fit the whole saga into one movie.

    Comment by JohnB | March 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

