Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Monolith

I went to the library this afternoon and came home with four books to read: John Scalzi’s "Old Man’s War", "The Sparrow" by Mary Doria Russell,"Rocket Science" by Jay Lake, and an old paperback of E.E. "Doc" Smith’s "Triplanetary," which I bought off the used book rack. The reading list had been pretty comic/graphic novel heavy lately, so I figured it was time to load up on some text for a bit.

Little did I know that later in the day, after starting the Scalzi and playing some Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess and having a cheeseburger, I’d read that Sir Arthur C. Clarke had died. Truthfully, I think I’ve only read one Clarke novel, that being "Childhood’s End," but damn, what a mind the guy had. (Addition: Heresy – I’d forgotten his awesome short story "The Nine Billion Names of God.") And while I may have only read one of his books, it’s probably fair to say that as a space advernture and science fiction nut since I was a little kid, I’ve probably read dozens of books and hundreds of stories that never would have been written and seen lots of movies that never would have been made if it weren’t for Clarke’s vision clearing the path.

March 18, 2008 - Posted by | Books, Current Affairs, Fiction, Film, geek, Science, Web/Tech

1 Comment »

  1. I was always a big fan of Clarke’s (3rd?) Law: “Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.” It’s a classic, classic line.
    I think that he wrote with that idea in mind, too. Rather than trying to explain things with fake-sounding techno-jargon, just assume that the tech works (while keeping it inside some very basic laws of science) and move on.
    At least he lived to a ripe old age!

    Comment by Kink | March 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

