Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Florida visit, 2008: Notes from the Road

100_1802
My wife and daughter and I went to visit Jim in Orlando last week, and I’m playing catch-up with some notes from the trip. Here’s a start:

April 20: Driving through the West Virginia mountains in the late afternoon sun was
incredible. When my wife and daughter and I hit Charleston
for that east-west stretch of Interstate 77 that runs along the city and the
river, the sun was just pouring in through the valley, bouncing golden off the
hillsides. And when we turned south again, a rainbow appeared, slowly. At
first, we saw a segment, bright and doubled, close enough that it looked like
we could actually see where it was touching down on a mountainside. Over the
next 15 or 20 minutes, the whole arc revealed itself, spreading off to the west
of the road over hills and valleys. People were pulling their cars off to the
shoulder to stop and take pictures and stare. It was majestic and amazing and the picture doesn’t do it justice.

After a fast-food dinner
stop near Beckley, Jenn took over
driving for a few hours. As it got close to midnight,
we came to the part of the highway that twists out of the Blue Ridge mountains
and there’s a fantastic vista off to the east where the land drops off. It was
dark, and you could see lights spread out and dusted across this quiet, dark
landscape. Jenn was listening to the radio and was singing this old Stevie
Nicks song – I think it’s called “Landslide” just barely loud enough for me to
hear. I don’t think she knew I was awake. I felt a tap on my shoulder, and turned around. My daughter, from the backseat,
all cuddled up in her blanket and sitting up from her pillow, whispers, “I love
you.”

Perfect moment.

April 29, 2008 - Posted by | Current Affairs, geek, Ohio, Travel

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

