Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

It’s Good to be Geeking

ManohmanohMAN I hope this story about the cities in the running to host Star Wars Celebration V is accurate. I missed the last one because I couldn’t make the trip all the way out to L.A., much as I wanted to, but I’ve sworn since then that as long as the next one’s east of the Mississippi, I’ll be there.

My preference among the finalist host cities is Orlando – I lived there for six years back in the 1990s, and Jim‘s place would make for convenient digs during C5. (Plus it would even things out from 2005, when he flew up here to go to C3.) Also would make a nice excuse to make the trip a family affair, since my wife & daughter could hang out with friends and family. Caveat: If it’s in Orlando, C5’s gotta be earlier on the calendar – it starts getting too hot in May.

Indy gets a familiarity & proximity (for me) nod; Baltimore’s not much further, but I’ve never been there, and Chicago has been the leader of the rumor pack for awhile, which I’m OK with. I guess I’d really only be disappointed if it were Minneapolis. Would I still go, even though this is technically WEST of the Mississippi? Abso-freaking-lutely.

In other Star Wars news: I’ve been stunned by the response to Collect All 21! – when the books start coming in, I’ll be shipping to (among other places) Sweden and Denmark! And I’ve had requests from England and Scotland, too. The first two batches of pre-order books are on the way to me and should be on their way to their owners within the next 7-10 days, and I’ve had to order more. I’m very excited about delivering a few copies at Saturday’s OSWCC Summer Social.

Per request, I’ve added a chapter excerpt to the book’s home page and a link to the WKSU radio piece that helped get the ball rolling on the project. The pre-order discount and free U.S. shipping offer goes away this Friday, so spread the word!

July 7, 2008 - Posted by | 1980s, Current Affairs, eighties, Film, geek, Ohio

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

