Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

What Kind of A Day Has It Been?

Well, let’s see: Dragged my butt out of bed at 6:30 a.m. for an absolutely-worth-it run with my brother this morning. Early enough to catch that last bit of overnight coolness in the air, late enough to enjoy the sun coming up before it got hot.

Got home and popped online to find that Wil Wheaton blogged about an Atari article I submitted to the Geeks group on Propeller yesterday, and that was an awfully cool little surprise. It’s also got me thinking about another writing project, and that’s always a bonus.

And then, of course, there was the trip I made over to Canal Fulton after lunch. Windows down the whole way, looking at housing developments and schools where fields used to be, thinking about when I was 16 and used to date a girl over this way, singing along to "Rattle and Hum." Destination: The Toys Time Forgot – which became the first actual store to put a couple copies of "Collect All 21!" on the shelves, so anyone in the area should go over and see Dan’s ridiculously awesome collection of toys and comics and games and stuff and, oh, yeah, ask him if he’s got any more copies of that new book about growing up in the 1980s as a total Star Wars dork.

Before I left, I did my usual "If I Had A Million Dollars" wish-walk through the place, but on the way out, I saw that Dan had already put my book on the racks by the comics, the cover right there alongside the trades and graphic novels. It was a neat moment, and I considered taking a cell phone picture but decided not to. I still kinda wish I had.

Drove home howling to "Bullet the Blue Sky" – you never forget that monologue once you’ve got it down, y’know – and then switched things up with a little "Rough Night in Jericho" and "Boomtown."

A little laundry and a little "Sports Night," and then Jenn & I went out for a great casual Mexican dinner, and came home and wailed on some Guitar Hero.

So what kind of a day HAS it been?

The freaking awesome kind.

August 23, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

