Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Geekside saves the day vs. Footballfan

Friday night football this weekend? Not so good.
Saturday night, Buckeyes v. USC? I’m not even linking to it. (Bowling Green/Boise State? Another stinker.)

For balance, though, Adam came over for an hour or so of Boom Blox to take the sting out of the Lake game.

And after lunch, I met up with someone I hadn’t seen in almost 20 years, hanging out at Borders to give him a copy of "Collect All 21," since he was there for the earliest years of my Star Wars fandom. Eavesdroppers & onlookers would have been hard-pressed, I think, to find a geekier table in the shop: Things started out with Star Wars, shifted to general science fiction books, cartoons, television, moved over to Japanese literature and movies, walked around paleontology for awhile, since I’d brought a box of fossils from last weekend, talked space exploration, moved on to board and strategy games and even squeezed in some recollection of treks we’d made through woods and swamps when we were little.

All things considered, it was good to have stockpiled that fine afternoon, given what happened to the Buckeyes that night.

After turning the TV off on that fiasco, I fired up the Wii again and finally got past my biggest sticking point so far in Twilight Princess and managed to make it past the subsequent puzzle, too.

So my Geekside saves the day vs. Footballfan. And hopefully it carries over, because as die-hard as I am about the Browns, I’m not betting anything on tonight, either.

September 14, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I sat in the wind and rain last night to witness that crime against humanity called Browns/Steelers. This weekend’s football? EPIC FAIL.

    Comment by Kink | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  2. If someone had told me on Friday that Pittsburgh was only going to score 10 points against Cleveland, I’d have been thrilled. And yet…SIX freaking points? SIX?!?! Grf.
    Listening to the game via battery-powered radio (’cause of no power for 32 hours beginning at 7 p.m. Sunday), I wasn’t sure whether to be jealous because you were there or not.

    Comment by JohnB | September 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

