Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Rambling man.

Truth: I did not get the creative work done this weekend that I wanted to. There's still a pile of unwritten ideas and scrambled thoughts waiting to be put together. In fact, there are a few piles now. The best I could manage was the start of maybe something, maybe nothing, over at Field's Edge.

Still, I did finish the last of the leaf piles on Saturday, with help from my daughter. They were wet and heavy, and hauling them to the woods with a big tarp knotted my shoulder muscles a bit.

I went for a run yesterday afternoon to unstick my brain and avoid feeling like another day was slipping by. It was 40 degrees and spectacularly still and cloudless and I hadn't gone running outside in five weeks, and it felt good. (Update: 6:16 p.m. – Went to the Y and did some treadmill running. 3.5
miles in something just under 27 minutes. I've never listened to music
while running, but I loaded up the player and gave it a shot. Lesson: "Duel of the Fates"
is, as I've always suspected, tremendously fun to run to, though a) it
is very difficult not to start singing "Koh-raaaaaah! Mat-taaaaah!
Koh-ra, MA-TA-RAAAAAH" and b) miming double-bladed lightsaber moves on
a treadmill is inadvisable.)

I got up early this morning. Jenn left for work at 5:30 or so. I brought a cup of coffee back to bed and finished reading Oakley Hall's fantastic "Warlock," which my friend Jake recommended when he visited last Thanksgiving. Next up is "The Unauthorized Star Wars Compendium," a birthday gift from Adam, who, on a totally unrelated note, has some great stuff from downtown Akron's tree lighting on his blog.

I'll end this babblewanderfest with a request for good thoughts for writer Tobias Buckell, who started his Thanksgiving weekend with a trip to the hospital and is still enjoying the comforts and joys therein.

November 30, 2008 - Posted by | Current Affairs, Fiction, geek, Ohio, running

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

