Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Life’s odd connections

Two odd, if tenuous, connections on my mind this weekend: I wrote a post for Field's Edge about ESPN's football documentary "The Greatest Game Ever Played" because one of my mom's cousins, Bob Schnelker, actually played in it. (He's also the reason our family has had a team-signed Kansas City Chiefs ball – Len Dawson's on there – floating around for decades, the coolness of which eluded me for most of my childhood.)

On a completely different and tragic and stunning and perspective-delivering note, Jenn told me Friday that I needed to check out the Canton Repository's website for this story, because we both used to work at the YMCA with Andrea. Our kids would play on the gymnastics equipment together while we were working the rock wall. I'm pretty sure my daughter still has a seashell that Andrea brought her from a trip somewhere.It's been at least 5 years, I think, since I saw or spoke to her, but Jenn's crossed paths with her at least a couple times since then.

It's a strange, grey feeling, reading about what's going on and it makes me sad.

December 14, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. That second bit about Andrea…that’s…wow.
    What can you say?

    Comment by Kink | December 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

