Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

“Collect All 21!” – New, improved, and stays crunchier in milk!

Updated:

Reviews, excerpts, podcast readings and more “Collect All 21!” information here.

Order it from Lulu, or from Amazon, or from Barnes & Noble.

Okay: The milk thing I made up.

But I am psyched about announcing two awfully cool changes to the book! First, the most obvious:

ca21newfrontmidsize

This is the new kick-ass cover by Kirk Demarais, creator of the awesomely time-stealing Secret Fun Spot, artist behind this inspired cinematic family portrait series at last year’s Crazy4Cult show in Los Angeles, and author of Life of the Party: A Visual History of the S.S. Adams Company, Makers of Pranks and Magic for 100 Years. (His book’s currently unavailable, but Kirk’s been running a fun retrospective this month of old pre-packaged gags. Have fun. Don’t get sneezing powder on your hands.)

I found Kirk’s blog awhile back and took about three seconds to get totally sucked in. Realizing we probably had some common interests, I sent him an electronic version of Collect All 21! and asked if he’d consider doing the cover of a revised edition. As you can see, he stuck to my original concept – not being artistically inclined at all, I was giddy when Kirk said he liked the homage to Kenner’s old Star Wars Proofs of Purchase, because I at least felt like my idea was good, even if my execution was a bit clumsy – but made the final cover totally his own, upping the old-school feel with the black backdrop, the textual echoes in the title, and the twin silver bar graphics. And I love the subtle nod to the CMYK offset printing process used in packaging, with the tiny slivers of magenta and cyan around the blue-and-white logo.

I told Kirk all this in a probably way-too-hyper email after he showed me the reworking, but this is his well-deserved public thanks: This. Is. AMAZING!

You have to look inside the book for the second Collect All 21! upgrade: It’s a new foreword written by David Morgan-Mar, of whom I’ve been a fan for several years now.

When I went looking for an independent voice to add an opening to my book, I wanted to find a fellow first-generation fan with a little, you know, Geek Cred. So, let’s see: David’s the creator of “Irregular Webcomic” – the hugely hysterical multi-layered comic which introduced me to his work – and the Star Wars prequel/roleplaying mashup webcomic “Darths & Droids.” He also writes and playtests GURPS roleplaying games, and for fun he’s done stuff like design computer programming languages for orangutans and evil necromancers. He’s got a Ph.D. in astrophysics, too.

So I sent him an email, and after getting a positive response, a PDF of the book. In return, David sent me an incredibly nice note about just plowing through Collect All 21! in sheer enjoyment. Within a week, he’d crafted a foreword that had me grinning for days and left me stunned at the wonder of living in a world where I can type to a guy I’ve never met, and who’s literally on the other side of the planet, and we can share similar experiences about growing up in the original Golden Age of Star Wars. (That goes for Kirk, too, by the way, minus the “other side of the planet” stuff, although we’re still several states apart.)

You’ll also notice that I tweaked the back cover slightly to match it up with Kirk’s design and incorporate a quote from David’s foreword.

I’m excited about sort of re-launching the book and reaching people who’ve either held off on buying or who haven’t heard about it lately because, well, I haven’t been talking it up much for the past few months. (Want to pass the word along? Here’s a PDF press release.)

Big, huge, massively supercolossal thanks to Kirk and David – and to everyone who’s supported me by reading and buying Collect All 21! since last July!

April 20, 2009 - Posted by | 1980s, Books, eighties, Film, Games, geek, Ohio, Science, science fiction, Web/Tech, writing | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. […] for coolness. Check it out: The guy who just did my new “Collect All 21!” cover, Kirk Demarais,  gets a nod from J.J. Freaking Abrams in the latest issue of […]

    Pingback by Kudos for coolness. « Cornfield Meet | April 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. […] unsure about Amazon’s practice of updating the POD source files, as mentioned in the note at the bottom of my announcement post.). And then traffic to the blog started spiking, relatively speaking. My little Cornfield Meet […]

    Pingback by A day worth saving like an old proof-of-purchase « Cornfield Meet | April 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. […] Find someone to write a foreword for Collect All 21! David Morgan-Mar graciously answered the call, which, coupled with an awesome cover redesign by Kirk Demarais, made for a great re-launch. […]

    Pingback by Reflections and goals. « Cornfield Meet | January 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

