Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Terribly Odd, Terrifically Neat

Last year, my friend Jim sent me a signed, limited edition Boba Fett print of this piece by Orlando artist Terribly Odd:

As it happened, the last night of our recent Florida trip coincided with the artist’s “Terribly Oddio” show at Uberbot in Winter Park, which Jim was planning to shoot, so Jenn & Kelsey & I figured it would be a fun way to spend an hour or two.

We were right.

I think my favorite piece was the They Might Be Giants-inspired one seen in the left side of this picture by Jim:

uberbot002

There was a similarly great take on the Guns-n-Roses “Appetite For Destruction” cover, and a tribute to Ohio-born Devo, seen here on display at Terribly Odd’s booth at last weekend’s FX convention:

Terribly Odd at FX Orlando 2009 by Jim Carchidi

Terribly Odd at FX Orlando 2009 by Jim Carchidi

That’s the artist (Terribly? Mr. Odd? I mean, I met him, but are we on a first-adverb basis?) on the right.

We talked for a couple minutes at the show, and he mentioned being invited to this year’s Crazy 4 Cult show at gallery 1988, which is, needless to say – and yet I will say it – Terribly Awesome.

Speaking of the FX show, Jim went and shot his usual impressive bunch of celebrity & pop culture photos, including:

KITT toy, FX Orlando 2009 by Jim Carchidi

KITT toy, FX Orlando 2009 by Jim Carchidi

A K.I.T.T. car just like the one my brothers had when we were kids: I assume the rubber band is there because those doors popped off with ridiculous ease. I also recall that pressing the rear license plate triggered several sound bites, and a sliding switch on the bottom of the car that enabled you to speed up or slow down the speech for accuracy. (Of course, it was usually used for humorous effect, to make K.I.T.T. sound like either the fourth Chipmunk or like he was prepping to deliver the “Sheeeee’s myyyyy buuuuuuutterfly” line for the Young Guns peyote trip scene.)

And, at my request, since I’m a “Firefly” fan, a couple pictures of visiting guests Jewel Staite and Morena Baccarin:

Jewel Staite, FX Orlando 2009 by Jim Carchidi

Jewel Staite, FX Orlando 2009 by Jim Carchidi

Morena Baccarin, FX Orlando 2009 by Jim Carchidi

Morena Baccarin, FX Orlando 2009 by Jim Carchidi

It’s funny: Jim said despite this year’s impressive guest list (Leonard Nimoy & Jonathan Frakes were also there), attendance at FX seemed significantly lower than past cons. I haven’t been to the show since 1997 or 1998, back when it was kind of heading into the downturn that would leave it overshadowed by MegaCon for much of the past decade. I wish I could have been there for this one, though.

April 21, 2009 - Posted by | 1980s, Current Affairs, eighties, Film, geek, science fiction, Television | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] 24 hours looking for some of the Star Trek actors I mentioned in the FX Orlando-related part of my previous post, so in the interest of being helpful to those people kind enough to visit my blog, here are more […]

    Pingback by FX Orlando 2009 - Star Trek Stuff « Cornfield Meet | April 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

