Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

A day worth saving like an old proof-of-purchase

I had a hard time getting myself to sit at the computer this morning, since I spent an awfully humongous chunk of yesterday parked in this very chair and obsessively clicking and revisiting sites in wonderment and gratitude, and I’d like to spend some time with Jenn before she has to go to work, but …

Yesterday ROCKED.

Both Rebelscum and TheForce.Net posted stories about the new Collect All 21! revised edition, and Rebelscum added the info to its Jedi Journals database. I also added a fresh plug in the R’scum forums, which got some attention from fellow Star Wars fans – particularly the always-awesome Vintage Collecting gang.

Then stuff started happening:

For starters, the first few advance copies I ordered arrived in the mail, and They. Look. Sweet.

And then I got some print and download orders through Lulu;  and then at least a couple orders went through on Amazon (A reminder: I’m unsure about Amazon’s practice of updating the POD source files, as mentioned in the note at the bottom of my announcement post.). And then traffic to the blog started spiking, relatively speaking. My little Cornfield Meet cracked the Top 100 (No. 78 – woohoo!) of WordPress’ Growing Blogs list for the day.

All this was encouraging and steadying and humbling and adrenaline-inducing, and it was, I admit, difficult to re-focus for a short freelance assignment I was working on, but I managed to get it done amidst the constant clicking and refreshing.

By day’s end, Collect All 21! had its best sales day ever; I got a couple requests for signed copies once I get a good supply of books here at home (including one from Australia!); I’m working on lining up a podcast interview about the book; and I received an invitation to attend and sign at a convention.

Don’t get me wrong: I’m certainly not replacing a full-time salary with these boosts, and I’m still pushing hard for every freelance assignment I can get – I had a very promising phone call this morning – but to everyone who’s visiting, subscribing, ordering, downloading, emailing or sharing the link love, this space is woefully inadequate for expressing what your support means.

Thank you.


April 23, 2009 - Posted by | 1980s, Books, Current Affairs, eighties, Film, geek, Ohio, science fiction, Weblogs, writing | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

