Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Penguicon leftovers: Reheated and still tasty!

Some of the stuff we brought home from Penguicon 7.0:

Two pieces of nondescript board which arrived at the convention as one piece of nondescript board. I figure I’m now appoximately one-fortieth of a level above No Belt, but still, it was pretty neat learning to put my fist through this.

“The Book of Biff Vol. 3: Fresh Toast,” and the postcard print that sold me on the cartoon from the start. It reads, “Biff realizes that it’s tricky to eat giant-squid noodles.” This also reminds me: Saturday morning (I think), Kelsey is chilling and reading the Biff collection. She turns on the TV to check the Penguicon channel, but lands first on a Care Bears cartoon. After about thirty seconds, she observes, without even cracking a smile, “You know, the Care Bears aren’t very good at problem solving.” We proceed to mock the Care Bears and this episode’s bad guy, who is either wearing giant mechanical battle armor or the new Master Chief Bear.

My registration badge. No, there aren’t any of those informative/funny/bizarre ribbons on it (check out this photo of Beaker to see what I’m talking about), but then, we were first-timers at Penguicon, and not volunteers or guests or room partiers, and we must have just happened to not attend any classes or panels where they were being given out. No big deal – though I do admit that we both loved the “Captain Hammer Threw A Car At My Head” ribbons, so bonus points to whoever distributed those.

Penguicon Program Book: Regularly folded up, rolled up, marked up and consulted.

Tobias Buckell‘s “Crystal  Rain.” – I read this last year, and met him at a book signing in Columbus where I didn’t actually have a book for him to sign, so I’ve owed him one. And it’s a great read. (It’s also a signed copy, which I didn’t realize until after I bought it.) John Scalzi’s “The Ghost Brigades” is here for the same reason – I brought it with me to have signed, since it’s my favorite chapter in his Old Man’s War universe.

Daniel Pinkwater’s “The Neddiad.” – This author has been on my radar for awhile, but I haven’t gotten around to reading him yet. This paperback was in one of the boxes of free books in the lobby. (Speaking of free stuff, I can’t find the sheet of Ubuntu stickers I picked up. And I’ve only gotten to cover one tiny Windows symbol so far!)

A bookmark promoting Jim C. Hines‘ “The Stepsister Scheme,” which he signed in lieu of the book which I failed to pick up prior to the signing and which I still need to go buy because he was such a friendly and hilarious guy.

Munchkin Bites and two Munchkin bookmarks – We’ve played twice since returning home (I’m now batting .333 vs. Kelsey, having finally won a game), and while I’ve been thinking we need to pick up some big 10-sided dice for level counters instead of the poker chips we’ve been using, I just found these and will be doing some downloading later.

We didn’t take a ton of pictures, but here are a few. I’m pretty sure I like this one the best:

May 6, 2009 - Posted by | Books, Current Affairs, Fiction, geek, linux, Science, science fiction, Travel, Web/Tech | , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Hope the Munchkin becomes a gateway to other games from Steve Jackson Games. Their products have consistently amazed me in their quality, both in production and in play value.

    In a couple of years you might be able to introduce her to GURPS, if role playing is your thing.

    Comment by Clay Dowling | May 6, 2009 | Reply

    • I’ve always wanted to get into role-playing games – I wrote about this when Gary Gygax died – but have never had that friend who really, really wanted to learn the rules and be the gamemaster. I think that’s part of why the feel and fun of Munchkin really appeals to me.

      Comment by jrbooth | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. That’s cool seeing Biff in the pile like that. Penguicon was a great show. Hope to see you again in 2010. :)

    Comment by Chris Hallbeck | December 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

