Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Amazingly cool coolness from Clone Wars writer George Krstic

Just before I headed off to Penguicon, I received an absolutely jaw-dropping email about “Collect All 21!

It started off with one of the sentiments I love to hear most about the book, along the lines of how my recollections echoed or reawakened someone else’s memories of their own Star Wars-infused childhood. (This never gets old. Seriously.)

Then it went on to mention the sender growing up not only in the same era, but in the same corner of Northeast Ohio.

Okay, so that doesn’t happen very often…

And then this came along: “…finally, my ‘wasted’ youth paid off when I got onto ‘Clone Wars,’ so…”

WHAAAA-?

>re-read the email subject line<

>flick eyes to signature and URL link<

>begin excitedly pointing at screen and babbling while Jenn watches with mild concern<

This. Is. SO. Cool: It’s from George Krstic, writer on Star Wars: The Clone Wars on the Cartoon Network!  (He also co-created “Megas XLR” and was a story editor and writer on MTV’s “Downtown.“) WNJC-AM’s “Fictional Frontiers” has a great interview with him here.

Honestly, just so stunningly amazingly neat that I actually held off on emailing him back for a couple days because otherwise it would have been a note like: “OMGbabblebleargh/CloneWarswriterproducer/fumblemumbleSqueee!”

And check it out – he wrote this blurb about “Collect All 21!” :

Whenever I’ve been asked where I would go first if I had a Time-Travel Belt, I’ve always said: Akron, Ohio – 1979 – the Children’s Palace Toy Store on Old Route 8.

The toys, the time, and the vibe were all amazing. The wonder of old-school “Star Wars” figures and ships stacked to the rafters, the simple joy of being a kid and loving a robot called R2-D2, and the anticipation of all of the cool sequels to come.

I never thought I’d actually get that Time-Travel Belt, but reading this book is almost better. (Except for the whole not being able to buy a mint-in-box vintage 12-inch Darth Vader, meeting my younger self and ruining the time-stream thing…)

I ask you: HOW AWESOME IS THAT?!?

The guy has been super nice and encouraging in the emails we’ve exchanged, and I can’t publicly thank him enough for this note and his thumbs-up, so expect me to write and say many more good things about him in the future.

May 11, 2009 - Posted by | 1980s, Books, Current Affairs, eighties, Fiction, Film, geek, Ohio, science fiction, Television, writing | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Did you hear about this site:

    http://www.scribd.com/about

    Comment by Ivan | May 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. […] a few months back, when I got that note from “Clone Wars” writer George Krstic? Well, we’ve stayed in touch since then, and I mentioned that I’d love to do a sort of […]

    Pingback by Collect All 21! – Special Celebrity Podcast Edition « Cornfield Meet | July 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

