Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

First step into a larger world.

That’s my right foot going from the house to the front porch just before sunrise today. It was my first step outside on Day One of Marathon Quest 2009. Between me and the Oct. 11 Towpath Marathon – my first – lie 18 weeks. 70 more days of running. 435 total miles. And after that, one more day, and another 26.2 miles.

My brother Adam – who followed the same training schedule last year for his first marathon – hit the road with me this morning. Three miles were on the calendar, and we wound up doing 3.4 at about nine minutes each, leaving me enough energy for a power sprint up the street at the finish.

I came home afterward and put a single ‘X’ through one little box on my chart.

June 9, 2009 - Posted by | Ohio, running, Sports | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

