Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Harry Potter and the Catoblepas of Anticipation

A few weeks back, I had to log off the computer and go downstairs to deliver some news to my daughter.

“Well,” I said, “I tried to get us tickets to the 12:01 a.m. showing of Half-Blood Prince – and it was sold out.”

I couldn’t bear to let the look of disappointment and shock sit on her face too long before adding “So I got us tickets to the 12:02.”

So, ten-odd hours from now, we’ll be gearing up for the midnight(ish) premiere of the sixth Harry Potter movie. I’m excited, but even though I love the movies, the anticpation is more about the opening night experience. I realized over the weekend that while I’ve seen my share of opening night movies – seeing Return of the Jedi (archived on an old Field’s Edge page) the day it was released remains my all-time favorite cinematic memory – I don’t think I’ve ever gone to one of these overnight shows, so it will be a first for both of us.

Double-checking the ticket confirmation online yesterday, I noticed there are now five just-after-midnight showings at the theatre we’re visiting, and they’re all sold out, which should make for a pretty buzzy atmosphere.

July 14, 2009 - Posted by | 1980s, Books, Current Affairs, Fiction, Film, geek | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Can’t wait to read the review! Although… I might block myself from it until after I see it…which may be awhile.

    Comment by Ivan | July 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. All sold out???? Have fun!!! What time will you go to the theater??

    Comment by Pam | July 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 972 other followers

