Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Reading worth sharing, part 2.

As promised, here’s the rest of the some-of-the-books-I-liked-this-year list that I started yesterday:

The Stepsister Scheme and its sequel, The Mermaid’s MadnessJim C. Hines. I’ve mentioned these a couple times this year, most recently back in November.

Looking For Alaska

by John Green

Looking for AlaskaJohn Green. A few years ago, my friend Katrina sent me this book out of nowhere, knowing full well it would just absolutely kick me in the guts in the best of all ways. It’s one of many re-reads this year, but it’s the only one I’m putting on this list because even thinking about it makes me want to go read it again right this damn second.

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks E. Lockhart. I read this one at the suggestion of a fellow GeekDad writer with the intention of passing it along to my daughter to get her thoughts for a review. I have kind of mixed feelings about it, honestly, but it gets points because Frankie (a teenage girl at boarding school) is an independent geek at heart. My daughter started to read it, but then the school year began and she got caught up in her assigned stuff and this went back to the library.

The Android's Dream

by John Scalzi

The Android’s DreamJohn Scalzi. I’d had this one in my hands at the library a few times before bringing it home, only because the opening chapter was so, um … different from the feel of Scalzi’s Old Man’s War series (which I love), and I wasn’t sure what to expect. (Okay, look: The first chapter is one big fart joke – and that’s Scalzi’s own description, which, incidentally, my daughter recalled verbatim when she saw I’d checked the book out.) At any rate, I shouldn’t have worried, because I loved this one, too.

AnathemNeal Stephenson. The first Stephenson I’ve read since Snow Crash. And WOW. If you’re not a fan of steep learning curves when it comes to rich world building and invented vocabularies, this one will feel like teeth on pavement. Me, I got wholly sucked in pretty quickly, and this book became one of those reads that I carted around everywhere, just in case I had a minute or two to spare.

Scud: The Disposable Assassin - The Whole Shebang

by Rob Schrab

Scud: The Disposable Assassin – The Whole ShebangRob Schrab. So, back in the mid-1990s, I bought an issue of Scud because it was so freaking weird and had this villain that spoke in practically nothing but 1980s pop culture references. And I bought the next issue, too. But then its publication grew erratic, and since I was already ending my brief foray into comic book subscriptions, I lost track of Scud. Last year, I found one of the trade paperback collections on the super cheap and rediscovered everything I loved about Scud in the first place. Thanks to a gift card and a hefty discount coupon, I bought The Whole Shebang this fall. Ultraviolent and flat-out disturbing at times, it’s not for everybody, but I’m a sucker for a Heartbreaker Series 1373 every time.

Punk Rock and Trailer Parks

by Derf

Punk Rock & Trailer Parks Derf. Another “You’ve gotta read this” from Adam, another strange, sometimes shocking, sometimes vulgar and yet surprisingly emotional book. This one’s about coming of age around Akron, Ohio during the punk rock scene of the late 1970s. I missed that era by a few years – I mean, I was here, but I was in elementary school at the time – but having grown up here, I recognize the ripples and echoes.

Memories of the Future Vol. 1Wil Wheaton. Though I prefer Wheaton’s wider-ranging general 1980s nostalgia pieces, I’m enough of a fan of Star Trek: The Next Generation to enjoy this mix of snark and recollection from his Wesley Crusher days. (And there is some serious snark: Even though it’s coming from a place of love, there’s more than a good dose of smart-ass 14-year-old in these.)

Whiteout Greg Rucka and Steve Leiber. …aaaand Mr. Besenyodi gets the Recommendation Hat Trick. Very little in this book was what I expected, other than – spoiler – the snow.

BoneshakerCherie Priest. A steampunk alternate Civil War history adventure with blimps, mad scientists and mutant zombies. The backstory alone is brilliant. The first Cherie Priest book I’ve read, and probably not the last.

Metatropolis

by Jay Lake, Tobias Buckell, Elizabeth Bear, John Scalzi and Karl Schroeder

Metatropolis Jay Lake, Tobias Buckell, Elizabeth Bear, John Scalzi, and Karl Schroeder. I’d been looking forward to this anthology since it was released in its original audiobook form, which wound up being nominated for a Hugo. I never did get to listen to that version, but thanks to the subsequent hardback edition and a birthday gift card from Jenn & Kelsey, I finally got to explore the stories this fall, and they were worth the wait.

December 15, 2009 - Posted by | Books, geek, science fiction, writing | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Conspicuous in its absence:
    Hal Higdon’s marathon book!!

    Maybe your most important read of the year!

    Comment by Kink | December 18, 2009 | Reply

    • D’oh! Although in my defense, a) this isn’t a complete list and b) The funny thing is, I now realize I never logged the Higdon book because I didn’t read it straight through.

      Comment by jrbooth | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. […] City & The City – China Mieville. For me, this was 2010′s equivalent to last year’s Anathem by Neal Stephenson. It’s a mental workout to read, especially in the beginning, but […]

    Pingback by 2010 in Books « Cornfield Meet | December 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

