Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Maybe I’m all messed up.

So Adam has written some of his own memories of the end of 1989 over at his blog, Random Thoughts Escaping, and while they make for yet another fantastic trip back in time, it forces me admit that at some of the points where our stories about that Dec. 31 can’t both be correct, he’s probably right this time.

As I wrote in an email to him after reading his post: Here’s the funny thing – although in my head and its logic circuits I know your recollection is correct, I can’t fully unseat my own flawed memory of the night. And I think you’re wildly correct in the observation that it was as much us revealing NIN to our friends as you exposing everyone to it that New Year’s Eve. Perhaps that’s where the emotional memories on my part are coming from.

It’s not the first time I’ve bumped into this kind of glitch: While doing some research for Collect All 21! I found my own pretty vivid memory of a conversation regarding Star Wars and Close Encounters of the Third Kind coming in direct conflict with the historical reality of when those movies came out and when my family moved out to Lake Township.

Adam nailed it right here in his piece about that New Year’s Eve: This amazing confluence of old and new friends, alcohol and music was somehow significant. It was a mingling of high school and college, Bizarre Love Triangles, and the inherent hyper-dramatic sense of trailing childhood’s end.

This is yet one more reason why I love talking and writing back-and-forth with Adam, whom I’ve known since sixth grade or so: Perspectives and facts shift and change, and even when my memory clouds, it turns out we’re totally in agreement about the important stuff.

January 5, 2010 - Posted by | 1980s, Music, Ohio, Weblogs, writing | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Wisdom of the fools I’m fairly certain that I do, in fact, remember the night at BGSU that Adam is talking about in his most recent “End of the Eighties” flashback on New Order’s Bizarre Love Triangle. Of course, it’s also entirely possible that my corroboration is something less than trustworthy. […]

    Pingback by Wisdom of the fools « Cornfield Meet | March 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

