Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

The roots of my peculiarity run deep.

The chaos continues around the Booth house today, but I couldn’t resist sharing this.

I have a trunk full of a lot of our family history-type stuff, and someday I’d like to document it all, but last night during my moments of organizing, I came across a typed section of a letter from my maternal grandmother, Donna Ruth Schoenberger, to one of her relatives. Now, for perspective, she died in December 1973, a little more than a month past my third birthday, so while I don’t know when this was written, I’m guessing I was maybe two, two-and-a-half years old, and staying with my grandparents at their farm outside Upper Sandusky, Ohio. Here’s what this clipped-out fragment reads, in part:

Had Johnny for 6 days. Really enjoyed him. He went with me to my to my circle meeting on Tuesday. He was real good. Said he did not want to go to a circle meeting, he wanted to go to a square meeting….

>ba-dum!<

Thanks, folks, I’ll be here all week!

So, yeah, my odd attempts at humor apparently go way back and maybe say a little something about my family which I absolutely love.


January 15, 2010 - Posted by | geek, Ohio | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] the 1969 moon landing, for instance; the jacket I had when my Dad was in Korea; the note I just mentioned the other […]

    Pingback by Small connections, family history. « Cornfield Meet | January 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

