Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Indiana Jones & The Buzzard of Rock

During a newsroom remodel at my last workplace, a copy of the June 17, 1982 edition of The Cleveland Press passed into my guardianship. It was the final day of publication for the 104-year-old paper, which is why this copy had been kept around in one of my colleagues’ desks.

Me, of course, I find its real value in the reminders and glimpses of the world in which 11-and-a-half-year-old me was growing up. Not in the hard news stuff, really, but in the advertisements and the music articles and the movie listings and television programming grids. Not that I specifically remember all of these things, exactly, but they were there, being absorbed into my brain whether I knew it or not.

For instance, just feast your eyes on this ad for WMMS in which The Buzzard sports full Indiana Jones gear beneath a Raiders of the Lost Ark-style splash. Snake wearing headphones? Bonus.

Why did it have to be snakes? Because they RAWK. \m/

Cleveland, 1982. Adios, Satipo. (Click for larger versions)

Oh, and trust me: This is just the first of the almost-three-decades-back journeys this Press edition is fueling. Fire up the wayback machine, Sherman.

April 12, 2010 - Posted by | 1980s, eighties, Ohio | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Warms my heart to see that great David Helton artwork again. I talked with David a few years ago while researching my Pop Conference paper on Michael Stanley and late ’70s/early ’80s Cleveland. Really nice guy responsible for the visual identity of that classic Cleveland radio station.

    Nice find, John!

    Comment by AB | April 12, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

