Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

“Memories of an Empire” – Saturday, May 15

Whatcha doin’ on Saturday?

Want to celebrate this month’s 30th anniversary of The Empire Strikes Back with me? I’ll be at the Fairlawn-Bath Branch of the Akron-Summit County Public Library for a 1 p.m. presentation, “Memories of an Empire”.

I’ll be sharing old (sometimes embarrassing) Star Wars-related pictures, nostalgic video clips, and reading parts of Collect All 21 focused on the awesomeness that was and is Episode V: The Empire Strikes Backreleased May 21, 1980 with less Wampa and a creepier Emperor and get off my lawn, you kids.

Hey, Luke! Um...guess what?

I never completed whole the Burger King sticker album, though.

Beyond the fact that it’s almost universally recognized as the Best Damn Star Wars Movie Ever, Empire tends to mean a lot to first-generation fans because it represents the first “oh-my-God-they’re-making-ANOTHER-ONE!” movie excitement a lot of us felt. And it was the first time we really got to see a pre-Star Wars movie merchandising and marketing juggernaut in action. I bet made more visits to Burger

Get 'em all? I wish.

Of the 12 scenes, I still have two that I completed.

King in 1980-81 than in the rest of my life combined, because they had the collectible glasses and the puzzle-piece sticker folders and the perforated-edge trading cards – and every peek into the new Star Wars movie was an adrenaline rush.

I still have one of those trading cards, too – it’s been in the photo sleeve of my wallet for years.

Defenders of winter fashion, too!

Pewpewpewww! (laser sounds, of course)

Be there, Saturday, you should! Fun, it will be, yes, hmmm!

And the Eventful.com listing includes handy buttons for Twitter & Facebook feeds, so feel free to share the news.

May 10, 2010 - Posted by | 1980s, eighties, Film, geek, Ohio, science fiction, writing | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

