Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Five years go by at point five past light speed.

My friend Jim attends Star Wars Weekends annually, and this year marked the first time he’s crossed paths with modelmaker Lorne Peterson since we met him at Star Wars Celebration III – and suddenly I can’t believe that trip was already five years ago. From Collect All 21

I had just started a new job, and my first few weeks, Jim and I emailed back and forth constantly, ironing out details about what to cover and how, setting up deadlines, checking the event programming to see who was going to be there and figuring out how to drink it all in. We were seriously, ridiculously psyched.

It was four days of total immersion in Star Wars fandom and there’s not a second of it I’d give up, even those frustrating times fighting deadlines and cramped media quarters and uncooperative laptops.

Friday evening to Saturday afternoon was particularly packed with “I-can’t-believe-we’re-here” moments.

Jim and I met, photographed and interviewed original Star Wars model-maker Lorne Peterson. This was a blast. I’d expected, at most, maybe a five-minute chat. We wound up talking for close to half an hour and it was just a very neat thing, thinking that this was a guy who had, quite literally, helped build part of my childhood.

I wound up talking to him a couple more times in the months after C3, and those interviews were the basis for a feature that ran in the October/December 2006 issue of Filmfax (“The Magazine of Unusual Film, Television & Retro Pop Culture!”). At 5,000 words, it was easily the longest piece of non-fiction I’d ever written for publication and also my first freelance magazine sale. Seeing it in print accompanied by some ILM-supplied photos and a couple of Jim’s shots from C3 was a total adrenaline rush. That these personal milestones were tied to Star Wars only makes them that much more meaningful.

I really like this shot Jim took of Lorne pondering a Millennium Falcon model onstage at Star Wars Weekends, and here’s a follow-up interview I did focusing on the release of Lorne’s “Sculpting A Galaxy” book.

May 31, 2010 - Posted by | Film, geek, science fiction, writing | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

