Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

In Which I’m Thankful – Yet Again – To Be A Geek Dad

Kelsey and I went to the bookstore this afternoon because I’d gotten a few Borders bucks someplace or other and had a 33% off coupon, too, and I’m looking to stack up a few good reads for a long trip later this month. For myself, I picked up Jim C. Hines’ Goblin Quest, and with the leftover bucks I let Kels pick out a book for herself.

I also went looking for GeekDad editor Ken Denmead’s book, and though I had to ask an associate to point me in the right direction, there it was, right here in North Canton, Ohio and looking spiffy:

I’ve mentioned before how much I enjoy writing for GeekDad, and being a part of that group of writers and editors, and though this book is absolutely Ken’s baby, it was still a tremendously neat thing to see it there, occupying physical space on a wooden shelf, and not just as a cover image on the computer screen or excerpted text or sample pages.

Now, the book was actually released about a month ago, so I’m late to the party on this one, and if there were any mentions of what follows on Twitter or the GeekDad contributors’ mailing list, well, I must have missed them. (May and June really have been hectic, I swear.) Because as I was showing Kelsey this book that “My GeekDad editor Ken” wrote, I flipped open to this:

Ken - you rock. Seriously.

Um, holycrapthoseareallmyawesomeGeekDadfriendsandZOMGthat’sme!!!

I was just bowled the eff over, right there in the Borders, trying to juggle the phone camera and hold my books and snap this shot before realizing, “Hey, dimwit – your kid’s right here: And she’s got hands and everything.”

Make no mistake: I make NO CLAIM on ANY credit for this book, and it’s amazingly cool of Ken to have included me in there just for the bits I contribute to GeekDad, and it makes me proud to play a small part among such excellent and admirable hobbits.

Go buy this book and support a stand-up, kick-ass GEEK DAD.

June 3, 2010 - Posted by | Books, Current Affairs, geek, Ohio, Web/Tech, writing | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] This is the stack of books for the road trip , and if my copy of Geek Dad arrives before next Monday, I’ll add it to the pile. And I’ll probably throw my D&D […]

    Pingback by Road reading « Cornfield Meet | June 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

