Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

NM and AZ

Wednesday afternoon, after checking in at the campground, having dinner and then driving around Tucumcari and taking in some of the neat Old Route 66 hotel signs, I relaxed a bit in the campsite’s rec room and charged the laptop and phone while letting a windy patch of weather pass. Got the tent set up around 9:30, and though it was a breezy night, it was comfortable and rain-free

So, up at sunrise and on the road again yesterday morning for what I knew would be a longish driving day across New Mexico and into Arizona.

West of the city, things stretched back out again.

Never having been this far west, I found a lot to look at in the landscape, but the vast distances between signs of civilization did kind of wear on me after a bit, and I was glad to reach Arizona around lunchtime:

Arizona struck me with its change of scenery – after that dramatic introduction (those photos are from the Welcome Center area), it was a lot like New Mexico had been.

I did see my first dust devil, and though it was a weak one, you could still see it rising from miles and miles away:

Then I saw the distant mountains that I knew signaled Flagstaff and my swing southward, and damn if there wasn’t still snow visible up there, just a couple days from the onset of summer.

Flagstaff to Phoenix was as gorgeous and varied a stretch of highway as I’ve seen, from these pine-topped mountains (which, again, had snuck up on me with a gradual climb from the east) down into canyons and cactus-dotted hillsides and broad valleys and incredible views.

I reached the home of my friends Jim & Michelle in the afternoon, and we passed a great evening hanging out and swimming and talking and staying up late.

June 18, 2010 - Posted by | geek, Travel | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] trip photos: June 17 I crossed most of New Mexico and Arizona on Thursday, June 17, going from Tucumcari in the northeast all the way down to west of Phoenix. Just west of the […]

    Pingback by Road trip photos: June 17 « Cornfield Meet | July 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

