Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Star Wars Celebration V: Day One

So, this was my first Star Wars Celebration in five years, and my daughter’s first ever, as well as her first really humongous-scale convention, and we just had a spectacularly awesome day.

Kelsey and Jim and I arrived shortly after 10 a.m., and once inside the Orange County Convention Center, we made a beeline for an exhibit of Ralph McQuarrie original art, a good portion of which had only recently been rediscovered, and some of which hadn’t been viewed in decades. Seriously neat stuff, from the most bare-bones concept sketches to fully-realized designs that were just never used, like this one:

ESBdesign

Then we visited the 501st costuming room –

– and the TK Helmet Project display:

Jane Wiedlin's Cylon helmet

…and then the R2-D2 Builders’ room (about which I wrote at GeekDad):

Jim went off to a photo shoot while Kelsey and I went with Adam & family to visit the exhibitors’ hall and take part in the construction of a giant Lego mural.

Off, then, to a Bonnie Burton talk about Star Wars crafts, after which we met Bonnie face-to-face and she presented Kelsey with a signed copy of her Girls Against Girls book, which was an awfully generous and most-appreciated gesture. (Yeah, Bonnie kind of rocks.)

We hit the showroom floor again for a longer stretch, and then took in a panel about model-building and The Empire Strikes Back presented by Lorne Peterson and Jon Berg – Jim rolled for initiative and caught Lorne’s attention afterward, so we talked for a moment and planned to meet up again over the next few days.

After that, Kelsey and I relaxed for a good long while over a Dr. Pepper and some french fries, and I talked to people I knew as they passed by.

Just before the main hall closed for the day, she and Jim and I popped in to take our turns posing in the giant Boba Fett action figure package.

We spent our last half-hour or so of the day hanging out at a collectors’ social, talking to friends, then called it a day and grabbed pizza on the way back to Jim’s.

Other super highlights: Jim surprising Kelsey with an original Katie Cook sketch of a Yellow Submarine; finally getting to chat with Steve Sansweet and having him sign my beat-up copy of his Star Wars: From Concept to Screen to Collectible, which played a hugely inspirational role in reinvigorating my love for the saga in the early ’90s (my Dark Times), and also giving him a copy of Collect All 21, which he asked me to sign; watching my daughter emerge from changing into her brand-new TARDIS-emblazoned Doctor Who shirt.

This was Kelsey’s only day here, and while she was exhausted at its close, she also had an awesome time, and no matter what else, that alone means I did, too.

August 13, 2010 - Posted by | 1980s, Books, Current Affairs, eighties, Film, geek, science fiction, Travel | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Bonnie used to work for my mom, years ago. I think they used to be fairly close.

    And my mom is still raving about your writing skills and your wonderfulness as a house guest. =) I’d say that you made an impression.

    Comment by Jenny Williams | August 13, 2010 | Reply

    • Bonnie still counts your mom among her favorite people, and I can see why. :)

      Comment by jrbooth | August 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] starters, here’s a link back to my post right after Day One, and below are links to the coverage I provided for Wired magazine’s […]

    Pingback by Star Wars Celebration V Recollections Part One – A GeekDad Looks Back « Cornfield Meet | August 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] already wrote an overview of Celebration Day One, but I want to stress here again how fun it was to finally meet Steve Sansweet – not because […]

    Pingback by Star Wars Celebration V: Collect All 21! Connections « Cornfield Meet | August 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

