Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Star Wars Celebration V: The GeekDad Interviews

I spent a good portion of the morning of Friday, August 13 doing interviews in the media room at Star Wars Celebration V, and over the past week, they’ve all been posted over at GeekDad. While it was obviously neat getting to sit and talk with all three of these guys about working in the Star Wars universe, a big part of what I liked about the conversations is that all three also grew up as fans of the original trilogy, so each interview included a little bit of reminiscing about those days, which is clearly something I like to do.

My first sit-down was with Dee Bradley Baker, who voices Captain Rex (and the entire Clone Army) on

Dee Bradley Baker photo by Jim Carchidi

Star Wars: The Clone Wars, and it was just a ton of fun. Before I had even started my recorder, we were talking about being dads and nerds and playing video games, and I honestly don’t remember if I managed to get a single question asked from my written list, because the conversation just unfolded naturally and covered some really cool territory.

My daughter was very excited about this interview – even though she wasn’t at the convention that day – because she’s a big Phineas & Ferb fan, and Dee does the voice of Perry the Platypus. He’s also the voice of Squilliam Fancyson on SpongeBob SquarePants, which means he played a crucial role in our Totally Favorite Best SpongeBob Episode EVER – “Band Geeks.” Bonus Awesome Points: Dee offered to record a message for my daughter, and he included his “Perry” growl.

Read “Voice Of A Geek: An Interview With Dee Bradley Baker.”

Dave Filoni photo by Jim Carchidi

My next interview was with Clone Wars Supervising Director Dave Filoni, and again, you can just feel his intensity and enthusiasm for Star Wars as soon as he starts talking about working on the series and tying it to the way first-generation fans feel about the saga and the things that we wondered about when we were kids, and his experience the first time he saw the original movie when he was around preschool age. Here’s the link to “Talking Clone Wars With Supervising Director Dave Filoni.”

Matthew Wood photo by Jim Carchidi

I finished up with an interview with Matthew Wood – Skywalker Sound supervising sound editor and the voice of General Grievous. This one had a certain “coming full circle” feeling, since five years ago at Celebration III, Jim and I actually bought him lunch as a favor to the Lucasfilm press contact who was helping us out that weekend. That was a rushed meeting, though, and although Jim had seen him at Disney’s Star Wars Weekends since then, this was my first chance to sit down and talk with him. (I was strangely thrilled to learn that he had once owned a Timex Sinclair computer – the same sort I brought home from middle school one day in a brown paper bag, buying it from a friend for ten bucks plus a “Lost City” D&D module I had already played through.) Here’s the end result, “Grievous Geekery: A Conversation With Lucasfilm’s Matthew Wood.”

August 28, 2010 - Posted by | 1980s, Current Affairs, eighties, Fiction, Film, geek, science fiction, Television, writing | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. […] not surprisingly, that Saturday was also the last time I posted anything on the blog. Not that I haven’t been writing over the last two weeks – the week immediately […]

    Pingback by The roads and the words. « Cornfield Meet | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] Wars Celebration V with Jim Carchidi in August, which I would have attended even if I wasn’t covering it for GeekDad. In terms of Force-ified geekfun, it managed to eclipse even the trip Jim and I took to Celebration […]

    Pingback by Where We Were, Where I Am, What’s Ahead « Cornfield Meet | January 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

