Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

2010 in writing

Sometimes I feel like I spend an awful lot of time at this desk and am still not as productive as I want to be. So while I was updating some of my recent project lists, I thought I’d see how many articles and other pieces I wrote last year.

Paid work:

I did somewhere in the neighborhood of 80 pieces for the automotive aftermarket industry trade publications Automotive Week (The Greensheet) and Service Executive. The vast majority of those were published in The Greensheet.

GeekDad: 56 posts. I don’t even come close to the output of the most prolific GeekDad core contributors, but man, do I ever have fun writing for the site. And it was a frakking great year to be a GeekDad, what with getting to attend both PAX East and Star Wars Celebration V. Among my contributions were 12 reviews and five interviews, and a piece about PBS’ Arthur which got a personal thumbs-up from Neil Gaiman. (No, I will nevereverEVER get tired of recalling that.)

Positively Cleveland: 20 articles, mostly for their visitors and destination planners’ guides.

East Ohio Conference of the United Methodist Church: 12 articles for the Joining Hands quarterly magazine, and a few online features.

Waste & Recycling News: 9 articles

Crain’s Cleveland Business: 8 articles

And one piece each for Yahoo!, UMW Response magazine, and the Tribune-Chronicle.

I also landed nine other “behind the scenes” corporate and marketing and advertising projects: Writing and editing of the sort that doesn’t come with bylines.

Unpaid work:

  • My short fiction “The Painting” was accepted for inclusion in the 100 Stories for Haiti anthology, a project to which all the work was donated, and all proceeds went to Red Cross earthquake relief.
  • CNN writer/producer Henry Hanks stumbled onto Collect All 21! and asked if I’d file an iReport video on the 30th anniversary of The Empire Strikes Back, which I did. (He also interviewed me and other fans about the movie for this story.)
  • The Bearded Trio – run by a guy I’ve never met but who was one of the earliest vocal supporters of Collect All 21! – invited me to contribute a post, and I had fun writing this look at some of John Williams’ lesser-known music.
  • And there was The Meat Locker.

I almost forgot that I finished writing another non-fiction book, too, and that as a not-for-public-consumption project I wrote a detailed 16,000-word Star Wars Celebration V journal.

As for this blog, according to WordPress’ summary, I wrote 197 posts in 2010, which equates to something slightly more than one post every other day. That’s not bad – in fact, every other day is about what I’d hope for – but I know that most of those posts came in an unbroken 125-day stretch (Feb. 28-July 2) where I was making a deliberate effort to keep the streak alive. The fact that I had things like PAX East and re-learning Dungeons & Dragons and my 15-day cross-country trip to write about made it awfully easy to maintain that momentum – as did serializing Crossing Decembers – but once July hit, my blogging regularity was pretty much nowhere to be found.

Looking over the numbers made me feel a bit better about the productivity, though I still didn’t do nearly as much on the personal project side as I wanted to. And while one of my goals this year is to get back into the habit of writing regularly on the blog, I really need to make sure I’m putting some other things – like fiction and book proposals and other side projects – higher on the priority list.

Truth is, I like being at this desk. What I love is feeling like it’s worthwhile.



January 5, 2011 Posted by | Books, Fiction, geek, Weblogs, writing | , | Leave a comment

   

