Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Load “FrigginAwesome”,8,1

I can’t imagine there are ’80s nostalgia geeks out there who don’t know about The Retroist already, but if you’ve never spent time on the site or listening to the podcast, you’re missing a daily dose of Good Stuff, Maynard. Stuff you will wonder how you ever lived without, like the pointer to C64 Yourself, where you can just drag-and-drop a photo and get it rendered almost instantly into a gorgeous Commodore 64-ized version like this:

Commodore 64 Yourself

Me, circa 1984, converted by C64 Yourself.

What makes this photo great? Not because that’s me, but because that’s me sitting at my typically clutter-covered desk playing Burgertime on my Commodore 64.

Large light gray box at the right? A black-and-white TV with rabbit ears serving as my monitor. The darker gray blob just to the left is the C64 itself, with the still-darker area being the keys. In my hands? A beat-to-hell joystick from our original Atari. (You can see the second joystick sitting on the desk almost dead-center: That short white vertical line – that’s right, we had played the covers off the things. Also, my brother Nick had a habit of chewing on them.)

Unfortunately, the C-64’s limited graphics capability falls short of capturing in detail my Gumby sweatshirt and oh-so-80s parted-down-the-middle haircut. Some things are best left pixelated.

June 14, 2011 - Posted by | 1980s, eighties, Games, geek, Ohio, photos, Web/Tech | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Well done! A prefect choice. I have very few photos of myself from the era when I received my Commodore, but boy I wish I did.

    Comment by The Retroist | June 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

