Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

A Dollar Well-Spent

One of the details I loved in the background of Super 8 was a 1970s-era Warren Presents science fiction magazine which looked a lot like the ones I used to find in the cheap bins at comic book stores.

So, the day after seeing Super 8, I’m at a small, local comic show, and I find this thing of beauty – for a BUCK:

Science Fantasy Film Classics

Volume 1, Number 1.

Now, I’m going to buy it anyway, before I even know the price, because it’s got that early “pointy W” in the Star Wars logo, and I think that’s pretty neat. The same logo’s on an interior page, too:

Star Wars early logo

I love that the escape pod overlaps the logo, like it's in front of the letters.

But the treasure-finding’s not over. There’s an ad for Star Wars on 8mm –

Star Wars 8mm

"Almost 8 minutes!"

… and one of the more bizarre George Lucas caricatures I’ve seen:

George Lucas by Anghelo

Man, were the '70s weird.

At this point, I’m buying the thing for sure, but it’s not until I get home that I take the time to unfold this masterpiece:

2001: Forbidden Star Odyssey Planet Wars

2001: Forbidden Star Odyssey Planet Wars

Art by Michael Stein (art director of the magazine), coloring by Jeff or Geff or Geoff Darrow (it’s spelled all 3 ways within the pages), this works in elements from all three classic movies mentioned on the cover. I struggled to get a good photo without a flash – the creases and the glare made for terrible glare otherwise – so the yellow appearance is actually an effect of the lighting. The glossy poster’s colors are really eye-popping in reality, but I think this still captures the feel of the era and the fandom nicely.

June 15, 2011 - Posted by | 1980s, Film, geek, science fiction | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Holy cow! That’s the most amazing poster I’ve ever seen.

    Comment by Doc Atomic | June 16, 2011 | Reply

  2. […] and I hung out for awhile today at a local comic show, and I was on the hunt again for some 1970s sci-fi print nostalgia like I stumbled onto a couple weeks ago. We’re side by side, thumbing through boxes of […]

    Pingback by Starlog Number 19: February 1979 « Cornfield Meet | June 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. Sadly, C-3PO then told Robby to watch his hands, and their relationship soured.

    Comment by Alex | June 26, 2011 | Reply

  4. […] A Dollar Well Spent – 6/15/11 – Hardly surprising, I suppose: I mean, a 1970s science fiction fan magazine […]

    Pingback by Six years, six posts, and a random crayon story. « Cornfield Meet | March 27, 2012 | Reply

  5. […] three-pack of Marvel Star Wars comics, and although I had forgotten what the bag looked like (Pointy W!), seeing this image brings back to mind the weight and texture of the plastic, as well as memories […]

    Pingback by Via Plaid Stallions: Multipack Time Travel « Cornfield Meet | February 25, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

