Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

What I read in 2011

I read 36 books in 2011, which is two fewer than my 2010 total, but a number which still pleasantly surprised me, given that I landed a full-time career-changing job in February.

Mostly fiction, by far. The eight non-fiction reads included two biographies, an essay collection, a book on gaming and society, and four pop culture niche explorations.

Nine books on the list are re-reads, although one of those was the extensively annotated Heir to the Empire 20th Anniversary Edition. If you want to get technical, it’s ten counting Pillars of Pentegarn although it’s been probably 25 years – at least – since I last read it.

Obsessive streak: I closed the year on a 10-day break from work, during which time I read volumes 2-7 of the Harry Potter series. (I had planned to read the entire set, but then realized I had already read Sorceror’s Stone over the summer.)

Shared joy: My daughter and I fell in love with the Scott Pilgrim series after I bought her the first volume and then went to the library within a day or two to check out the other five.

I have Adam to thank for two books on the list which were gifts: John Landis and Manhood for Amateurs. Excellent call on both.

I reviewed twelve of the books for GeekDad.

The list:

And first on the list for 2012:

Ganymede by Cherie Priest


January 1, 2012 - Posted by | Books, Fiction, Film, geek, science fiction | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. YOu read more than me!

    Comment by Jeyna Grace | January 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. It’s also not so much about the quantity, but whether you LIKED what you read. And I can say that I really enjoyed most of what I read last year.

    Comment by jrbooth | January 2, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] only read through 25 books in 2012, compared with 36 in 2011. (And down further from the 38 in 2010, and barely half my 2009 number: 46.) Those books (linked to […]

    Pingback by What I read in 2012 « Cornfield Meet | January 2, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

