Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Old Rocking Chair’s Got Me

I’ve recently added a chair to my office here at home. It’s not pretty, but it had always been in my grandma’s house, so I’m emotionally attached to it. Also, it’s a swivel rocker, and deceptively comfortable, especially when paired with a shut-up-I-love-it 1970s dark green vinyl footstool.

Just a guy in a chair

A couple weeks ago, I found this picture of me sitting in the same chair:

Little kid in a chair, 1971

This is actually in the house in Upper Sandusky where my dad and uncle grew up, on South Fifth Street. It’s December 26, 1971: A day after my second Christmas. I’m a little more than 13 months old.

(Title of the post? Hat tip to science fiction luminary Suzette Haden Elgin‘s short story, which is well worth tracking down.)

January 22, 2012 - Posted by | 1970s, Family history, Ohio, science fiction

4 Comments »

  1. That makes the chair 40 years old….
    Mom

    Comment by Mom | January 23, 2012 | Reply

    • It was brand new?

      Comment by jrbooth | January 23, 2012 | Reply

  2. […] in looking through the photo album where I found the old picture in yesterday’s post, I also found this shot of Christmas presents from Dec. 25, 1971: Click to […]

    Pingback by Seuss Zoo – Christmas 1971 « Cornfield Meet | January 23, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] This chair belonged to her. […]

    Pingback by Things About My Grandma « Cornfield Meet | November 15, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

