Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Canton Marathon 2012: The Journey Begins

image

As of 6:30 this morning, that Feb. 14 square is marked with an X, since my first official training run for the 2012 Canton Marathon is in the books.

It was not enjoyable. The schedule only calls for three miles, but I wound up doing them on the treadmill. And since I don’t trust the treadmill’s distance gauge, I figured I’d be safe going for 31 minutes. It didn’t help that I haven’t run in awhile.

Tomorrow calls for a five mile pace run. My brother Adam and I are shooting to beat his first marathon time of 3:40, so we’ll be going for an 8:23 pace.

February 14, 2012 - Posted by | Ohio, running | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Do you have the marathon bug?

    I just started going to the gym!

    Comment by walpurgis23 | February 14, 2012 | Reply

    • I don’t know if I’d call it a “bug.” This will only be my second marathon, and I’m doing it in part because it’s right here in Canton. I could see myself doing maybe one a year, or every other year, but probably not repeating locations.

      Comment by jrbooth | February 14, 2012 | Reply

  2. […] does feel good, though, to have that schedule taped up beside my desk again, and to see that one week of miles are already behind me. Share […]

    Pingback by Eighteen Saturdays: Canton Marathon 2012, Week One « Cornfield Meet | February 19, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

