Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Two nice reviews of Collect All 21!

A couple weeks back, Goblin Quest and Princess Series author and nice guy Jim C. Hines posted a brief review of Collect All 21! on his blog, which included this bit:

I suspect Booth and I are roughly the same age, and his stories stirred some nostalgic memories as I read. I found myself thinking back to the original Star Wars Luke Skywalker figure I owned, with the yellow lightsaber that promptly lost its skinny tip. Then when Empire came out, Luke came with a detachable lightsaber and a gun instead of the lightsaber that slid up into his arm, and that was THE MOST AWESOME THING IN THE WORLD!

As I’ve said before, knowing that I’ve helped someone dredge up a few memories of the glory days of Kenner That Was is a very cool feeling, as is, you know, getting a kind word from an author whose work you really enjoy. It’s right up there with Bespin Luke’s yellow lightsaber, and less likely to get lost under the basement stairs.

I also just found this YouTube book review video from user micahc6v8 – he starts talking about Collect All 21! around the 5:02 mark –

I’m guessing that he read the expanded electronic edition, since he doesn’t show a physical copy of the book, and he notes the $2.99 price. At any rate, he also says some positive things about my little Star Wars nostalgia trip, noting in particular that he identified with the book despite being of a different generation, which, again, is nice to hear.

March 8, 2012 - Posted by | 1970s, 1980s, Books, eighties, Film, geek, Ohio, science fiction | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. This is micahc6v8, thanks for watching my review! Sorry that I had it mixed in there with 3 other books. I really should have given it it’s own video. I was really impressed with your book and I can’t recommend it enough. I convinced several of my friends to download the digital copy and they all really enjoyed it. I really hope you might consider holding a panel at Celebration VI so fans can come and hear your stories in person. Thank you very much for sharing your memories with us! -Josh

    Comment by Josh micahc6v8 | March 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

