Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Six years, six posts, and a random crayon story.

I wrote my first blog post – and came up with the name Cornfield Meet – six years ago today.

The six most-visited posts since then, in ascending order:

#6 A Dollar Well Spent – 6/15/11 – Hardly surprising, I suppose: I mean, a 1970s science fiction fan magazine with a Forbidden Planet / 2001 / Star Wars mash-up poster? Come on.

#5 The Rebellious Robot at 30 – 9/10/09 – A rework of an interview-based piece I originally wrote folliwing a 2004 conversation with one-time Star Wars illustrator Mark Corcoran. Incredibly nice guy, and still super-talented.

#4 My Concerns with Ohio’s New Passenger Rail – 1/31/10 – The issue itself has been dead for awhile, but this one seemed to attract searches for a map of Ohio’s population density. Weird.

#3 “Smoke up, Johnny!” – Things I Love So Far About “Community” – 9/23/09 – No question, this one drew searches for the origin of that particular quote. And the show has only gotten better.

#2 Remembering Ralph McQuarrie – 1929-2012 – 3/4/12 – The most recent post on this list, my tribute to the late Star Wars concept artist was the beneficiary of some serious signal boostage from both Bonnie Burton and the official Star Wars Twitter feed.

And in the top spot,

#1 John Hughes and “The Breakfast Club” – Forever Quotable – 8/6/09 – And there’s a sizable gap between this one and second place. True, this one’s been on the site for three years, where the McQuarrie piece isn’t even a month old, but I love the fact that this essay/research project/weird obsession still sits here quietly pulling in people looking for the source of a quote they’re sure they know from somewhere, or wondering what song Bender air guitars in the library, or what the heck he says in that line which begins, “So, Ahab…”

I should note that this ranking reflects only the visits since I moved the site over to WordPress in early 2009. (The posts from 2006-2009 made the move, of course, although their traffic stats did not.) Still, looking at which posts have attracted the most traffic and why, it’s highly unlikely that anything from the first three years would have cracked this list.

At any rate, this blog is now as old as I was when I learned that trick of snapping crayons in two over my middle finger, as a direct result of which my school “art box” was suddenly filled with half-length Crayolas.

March 27, 2012 - Posted by | geek, Ohio, Weblogs, writing | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

