Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Backyard, then and now

I’ve been fascinated for awhile now with “Looking Into the Past” pictures and manipulated photos, so I thought I’d give it a shot this afternoon.

I live across the street from the house where I grew up – my youngest brother and his family live there now – and my mom kept volumes and volumes of family photos, so the resources were close at hand.

Two things I learned: 1) The whole hold-the-picture-out-with-one-hand-and-shoot-with-the-other thing is difficult for me, but it didn’t occur to me until awhile later that I could also 2) take a new photo, scan the original, and put ’em together using the computer.

No big deal. At any rate, here’s the result of my hour’s worth of work (which included looking through the photo albums for a suitable test shot):

Ohio backyard

A few things:

  • Original photo is from the late 1970s or extremely early 1980s
  • Yes, this is a composite. I took almost the exact same photo twice. In one, the old picture was in focus, and the “real world” blurred. In the second, the reverse was true. The angles were close enough that I combined the in-focus portions.
  • What may be difficult to tell from this picture is the degree of change in the background. Although the trees at the top center of the photo might seem at first glance to line up with the treeline in the old photo, if you could see the horizon line, it’s pretty close to lining up. Those treetops you see above the edge of the old photo are actually the full-grown pines that are barely visible in the old picture. Not the mid-sized pines you see in the mid-ground, mind you – there are two rows of extremely young pine trees just beyond those, and it’s those two rows now standing sentinel at the field’s edge.

I had enough fun with this that I’ll try it again with other pictures.

May 20, 2012 - Posted by | 1970s, 1980s, Family history, Ohio | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Not bad! You should submit it to the Flickr Looking Into the Past group: http://www.flickr.com/groups/lookingintothepast/

    Comment by pixelmedius | May 20, 2012 | Reply

  2. Is that Sue, me and which children?
    With no landscaping, I would say it is the year it was installed which, I THINK was 1979 or 1980.

    Comment by Mom | May 23, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

