Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Eighteen Saturdays: Canton Marathon 2012, Week Sixteen

Well, the 20-miler is behind us, and after this morning’s run to start week seventeen, there are now more miles in the marathon itself (26.2) than in the six remaining training runs combined (22). In other words: Not much to tell.

So last week’s five mile runs on Tuesday and Thursday were uneventful. Wednesday, with a four-mile pace run on the schedule, Adam and I went after it with the same energy as we’d done when I ran my first sub-eight-minute five-miler a week before – and we came in at a personal best 30:19. The loop is actually 4.05 miles, so our average was about 7:29 per mile. I felt really good about this run.

We were visiting our friends Jen & Steve in Columbus over the weekend, so I mapped out a 12.6-mile back-and-forth course near their house and ran it solo. It was cloudless but nice and cool and breezy, and I averaged an 8:50 pace over the mostly-flat course.

I suppose the most significant running event of Week Sixteen was Thursday night, when I finally pulled the trigger and registered myself for the full marathon, which means I’m now committed to the race, just twelve days off.

June 5, 2012 - Posted by | Ohio, running, Sports | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

