Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

The Mouse and Mos Eisley

In no particular order, a few thoughts on Disney buying Lucasfilm, mostly composed in my head on the way home from work:

  • I started out thinking, “I’m OK with this.” This has since evolved into, “YES, I’m really, really freaking OK with this.”
  • I remain amused that this sentence – “Star Wars Episode 7 is targeted for release in 2015, with more feature films expected to continue the Star Wars saga and grow the franchise well into the future.” – is at the end of the sixth paragraph.  Best. Buried Lede. EVER.
  • Disney’s overseen mostly amazing work in its ownership of the Pixar, Marvel, and Muppets properties, which makes me think the Star Wars universe will be in good hands.
  • Incredibly smart move on George Lucas’ part: If Disney messes up the Star Wars franchise, he has washed his hands of it. If Disney can pull an Avengers-esque success with Episode VII, then Lucas is the guy who turned over control of his empire in order to save it, and he regains Favor Among Nerds.
  • No idea where Episode VII will take the story. Original Jedi leads are out of the question. The droids? Han & Leia’s kids? A direct sequel recast with new actors in the leads? (Timothy Zahn’s Thrawn trilogy? I like it a lot, but I don’t think it will ever be positioned as big-screen canon.)
  • Star Wars Celebrations with actual movie build-up involved again? Sweet. I wonder if Disney ownership improves Orlando’s chances of landing future conventions.
  • Star Wars movies scripted and directed by someone other than George Lucas? History proves this is not an ungood idea. (Please see: The Empire Strikes Back.)
  • Yes, like every other dang geek on the planet, I thought, “JOSS! JOSSSSSS!”
  • I took my daughter to opening night of Episode III, thinking it would be the last chance for us to see an original Star Wars big screen premiere. She was eight years old. When I told her about Disney buying LFL and announcing Episode VII in 2015, and that it meant we’d be able to do another opening night Star Wars, her reaction was, “That rocks so hardcore.” I have to love that.
October 30, 2012 - Posted by | 1970s, 1980s, eighties, Fiction, geek, science fiction | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Problem is, Joss CAN’T do Episode VII, because he’s committed to Avengers 2, which is also scheduled for 2015.

    Comment by Matt Blum | October 31, 2012 | Reply

    • I know, I know. But it’s now at least a realistic possibility that Joss could wind up handling a Star Wars movie. And hey – maybe the timing is good: Let someone else handle the expectations of Episode VII, and put Joss in control of this trilogy’s Empire chapter.

      Comment by jrbooth | October 31, 2012 | Reply

  2. Loved this post! And like so many others out there, I thought this was awesome. George Lucas can be his own worst enemy sometimes, so we get the vision but different direction. :)

    Comment by ganymeder | October 31, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] My thoughts: The Mouse and Mos Eisley. […]

    Pingback by Disney buys Lucasfilm! - Page 22 | October 31, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

