Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Running 2013: Week Thirteen

No weekday runs this week, and I spent most of Saturday’s prime running hours enjoying International TableTop Day with friends, so…

Sunday I decided to go for my first non-stop seven-mile run in I don’t know how long. Since I was planning on going past five miles, I put on my running belt and took some water along. And not stopping to walk was my only goal: This one was all about the legs, not the lungs, so I deliberately kept my pace slow from the start.

I was a bit concerned about a mile-and-three-quarters in, when my ankles and calves started to hurt. They’ve never caused me trouble before, and I figure this was my reminder that even short runs during the week really do wonders for keeping my legs and lungs in shape. I definitely felt the six days off. The pain subsided for the next few miles, and didn’t return until miles 4-7, which I had pretty much expected anyway.

It was overcast and about 50 degrees, with a bit of a breeze that I really didn’t notice until it became a headwind for most of the homeward-bound part of the loop, and in miles 4-6, between that and my now-for-real-sore legs, my pace climbed past the 10-minute mark. Like I said, though: I was keeping my lungs comfortable, and breathing-wise, I felt really good.

I got things back down to 9:23 for the final mile, which includes a tough climb, and managed a decent push over the final half mile to finish with an overall pace of 9:43. An ugly time, sure, but that wasn’t my goal today. Today, it was enough just to keep running.

92.8 miles for the year, 90 days in.

March 31, 2013 - Posted by | Ohio, running, Uncategorized | ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] last week, I wanted to get the route done in something closer to my usual running pace, so I took each mile […]

    Pingback by Running 2013: Week Fourteen « Cornfield Meet | April 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

