Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Two things from the ’80s

I remember a lot of passing, strange tidbits from the 1980s, but twice – before lunch! – on Sunday, I encountered two pieces from the era of which I have absolutely no memory:

  1. Lynne Cox‘s 1987 swim across the Bering Strait from the U.S. to the U.S.S.R. One of the National Geographic Channel The ’80s: The Decade That Made Us episodes included a segment on this, and it struck no chords of familiarity whatsoever.
  2. Duran Duran bassist John Taylor’s song “I Do What I Do” from the  9 1/2 Weeks soundtrack. Kelsey and I were in the car listening to a rebroadcast of an old Casey Kasem American Top 40, and this was in the countdown:

Nope. Don’t remember ever hearing that one. And that’s coming from a guy who still has bits of the lyrics to the other songs on Buckner & Garcia’s Pac-Man Fever LP – an album I didn’t even own – stuck in his brain.

April 21, 2013 - Posted by | 1980s, geek, Ohio | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I loved this song and was going to post this on my blog. Thanks for this! :)

    Comment by Kennie Mac | May 5, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

