Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Running 2013: Week Thirty-five

I totaled 11.5 miles during three consecutive days this week, focusing almost solely on mileage and rarely on my pace.

All three were warm and sunny late afternoon runs – conditions under which I’m normally slower to begin with – and felt more difficult than I’d like.

  • Aug. 23: 4.4 miles, 40:26. Average pace = 9:09
  • Aug. 24: 3.6 miles, 31:32. Average pace = 8:43 (Pace over the last .6 mile = 8:05)
  • Aug. 25: 3.5 miles, 30:55. Average pace = 8:45

Year-to-date total: 235.8 miles.

Monday (the end of my running week) was the 238th day of the year, so I’m basically one extra run or a few add-on miles from being back on track.

I also realized that I have no summer or fall race plans this year, which would break a 10-year streak, and which suddenly seems kind of like something I don’t want to do, so maybe I should find myself a race to run. Dang – I really should have done Orc Stomp at Gen Con. (For the record, the first five years of that streak were all two-milers: Four Pro Football Hall of Fame Races and one North Canton. Year six, I did the Hall of Fame five-mile, and between 2009 and 2012 I ran two full marathons – Towpath and Canton – and legs in three Akron Marathons.)

Some quick searching leads me to think one of the Ohio Outside trail races would be fun, and something different than I’ve done before.

August 27, 2013 - Posted by | Ohio, running | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

