Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Back in the game

OldDice

Earlier this year, a friend asked if I’d be interested in his 1980s Dungeons & Dragons stuff. He’d played a lot back when we were kids – I wish I’d known that at the time – but hadn’t touched the game in years, and thought I’d enjoy having the classic material on hand, since I now play regularly.

So we struck a deal, and I’ve spent a good amount of time revisiting the books and box sets and modules that I either never had or never fully appreciated as a kid. (Bonus: His collection included a Fiend Folio that even has the remnants of a Kay-Bee toy store price sticker, just like mine did!)

Inside the Basic Set was a sandwich bag containing seven dice. The brown 10- 12- and 20-siders look like they came from the same original set. The light blue d4 and d6 are identical to the ones I got in my own red box Basic Set. The two d8s are each a little different.

I was surprised to see how small those three older brown dice looked, sitting next to dice from my current collection –

OldDiceNewDice

– but they felt familiar between my fingertips. And the d4 is numbered the way I remember from middle school, with the digits on the edges rather than the corners.

Thing is, it was only last weekend that I had the realization that These Dice Should Be Rolling! I retrieved them from the Basic box and tumbled them into my dice bag.

Tuesday night’s D&D session was entirely role-playing, but toward the end of the night, we rolled for a bit o’ treasure.

Here’s the result of the d12’s first in-game cast in close to three decades:

BackInTheGame

This One Goes To Eleven. (And landed Culhwch Keepson a Ring of Climbing.)

October 10, 2013 - Posted by | 1980s, Games, geek | ,

2 Comments »

  1. You should start rolling the Old Bones all the time!!! I would roll my “originals” but I’m old and can’t see the numbers. The crayon is completely desiccated and nearly fossilized.

    Comment by Tom Allman | October 11, 2013 | Reply

  2. You’ll definitely see them again!

    Comment by jrbooth | October 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

