Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Running 2013: Week forty-three

Yet again, I found myself needing to tackle a week in a day, which didn’t go so well for me in Week 41.

This time, I decided I’d rather try my longest trail run by far and not worry about my time, so long as I just kept moving above a walk.

Gorgeous, sunny morning it was, and just below 50F, so I wore my shorts and a long-sleeved shirt.

I covered 7.5 miles – all but a quarter-mile of it off-pavement – and experienced pretty much all the environments of Quail Hollow State Park, finding myself taking a few new paths and way out in suprising parts of the park I hadn’t really come near before. The fastest mile I did was my first – 9:03 – and my slowest was Mile 7, at 11:48 (which included a lot of climbing). I only paused twice – once to get my bearings, and once to figure out how to get across a rain-swollen creek.

For the first time in awhile, I got post-run soreness in my legs the next day, but it was well worth it.

Miles on the year: 297.65. Monday (the close of my running week) was day 294, so I’m right in the zone.

October 24, 2013 - Posted by | Ohio, running | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

